February (and March) (…and April) Reading Roundup

I had planned on posting one of these each month and fell way behind almost right out of the gate. Either way, here I am with the last three months of reading! I included references to the Booklist Queen’s 2023 reading challenge where I was able to satisfy those requirements.

April also marks the beginning of the reddit r/Fantasy Bingo challenge! I don’t think any of my books will go towards that this month, but there will certainly be more to come.

Complete or DNF

  • Einstein’s Dreams

This was a delightful read for me personally as it studies one of the most reliable and yet most intriguing elements of the physical world. This book is a series of shorts and essays taking alternative looks of time and how it would affect the world. It ranges from something as direct as time moving backwards to more conceptually complex ideas as time being a product of location. Each one examines the human element and how our perception of time influences our behavior. I expect to revisit this book every so often to see what sticks out to me with each read. 

  • The Butcher and the Wren
    • Attempt at a 2022 Bestseller

I’d attempted to read this as a 2022 NYT Bestseller for my booklist challenge. The cover pitched it as a thrilling cat-and-mouse between a forensic pathologist and a serial killer from a writer who has in-depth knowledge of investigations. The reality was a series of interesting serial killer passages and POV chapters from the MC that were as interesting as a field report. Throw in a dream sequence at the 26% mark and suddenly I’m rooting for the serial killer. Okay maybe I wouldn’t go that far but the point is clear. 

  • The Perfect Run by Maxime J Durand (Void Herald)
    • Recommended by a friend

If you read my January reviews, you may have seen this book pop up. I was still pretty early and waiting for something to hook me in. Well, suffice it to say…hold that thought.

  • The Perfect Run 2 by Maxime J Durand (Void Herald)
    • An Audiobook

It…wait I’m not ready yet. 

  • The Perfect Run 3 by Maxime J Durand (Void Herald)
    • Made me happy

Here we are. It did. I awkwardly sat on my couch listening to the audiobook so I could finish one night and started book two the next morning. It took nine days to listen through book two and start up the third. The final installment took just over two weeks. 

This little bit will serve as a mini-review for the whole trilogy to this point. I really did struggle with the main character for maybe a quarter of the first book. Eventually, there were moments with just the right mixture of humor and heart that I understood him. 

Ryan, the main character, gives off a strong Deadpool energy which will work for some more than others. Once you truly embrace it and realize there is a complex individual with a rich history beneath, the humor lands better and you start craving those hidden details. 

Devastatingly funny, wildly entertaining and, just when you aren’t paying attention, utterly heartbreaking, I was flabbergasted to find just how much I loved this trilogy. 

The series is very clearly aimed at gamers as the elevator pitch can be described as “what if you were the MC in GTA but real life and dystopian future?” But between the complex main character and the unstoppably lovable side characters, the emotional core of the story is simply brilliant.

  • A Hard Kick in the Nuts by Steve-O
    • Genre I don’t usually read (non-fiction/memior)

If I’m being totally honest with myself, I’m not sure what I expected when I picked this one up. I’ve always been somewhat aware of the struggles he’s been through – as much as I expect anyone who grew up watching Jackass is – but the specifics were genuinely difficult to stomach at times. Steve-O doesn’t shy away from the ugly realities of his past and his present in a book that provides some life advice while playfully reminding readers to take it with a grain of salt. 

The biggest takeaway for me was genuine happiness in seeing the stability and optimistic future for Steve-O after years of putting himself through shit. He doesn’t pretend he’s perfect or ever has been, but he has acknowledged those mistakes and is rebuilding. 

In the end, is there anything else we can ask for? 

  • Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko
    • Set in the 1930’s

Reading the back of this book promised a story of a teenage boy trying to fit in while living on Alcatraz Island while caught up in the antics of the warden’s entrepreneurial daughter. Seems light and breezy, plus being set in the 1930’s qualifies it for a book challenge item! 

While most of that is true, the core of this book is really about how the family navigates the treatment of the young main character’s severely autistic sister. As far as modern medicine – specifically psychiatry – has come, the same cannot be said for the 30’s. The family bounces from doctor to doctor, trying out all kinds of experimental treatments and remedies to improve the daughter’s condition. Meanwhile there is a clear toll taken on them as they see relatively little progress. More importantly, it conveys all of this without compromising who she is as a character. Yes, she has autism and it affects those around her but she still has an identity and, more often than most would care to admit, that gets lost in the shuffle. 

The clear standout to me was how effectively these themes were presented in a book intended for younger readers. I’m not sure if I’ll continue the series, but that’s not in any way a reflection of the story’s quality. Honestly I just don’t know if I have the emotional stamina to go down that road. 

In Progress: 

  • Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik
    • Winter Read

I can’t say I’ve made this book much of a priority since starting in January, but I’m up to 39%. I stand by my speculation that fairy tale style retellings don’t suit me. That said, this story has picked up a bit. I’m finally knocking other items off my “current read” list so I can hopefully make some more progress and see how this plays out. 

  • Murder Your Employer by Rupert Holmes

I couldn’t help but be drawn in by the description of this story. A secret university in a secret location that teaches the art of murder? Sold. Not to mention the dark humor and pleasant tone of the writing. I’m only 28% in for now and I enjoy it, though I’d like to see some more plot development sooner rather than later. 

  • The Coward by Steven Aryan

At some point I realized I had ventured so far out of my comfort zone that nothing (save for manga) I was reading could be called Fantasy. Obviously that won’t do so I pulled this one off my shelf. I’ve always insisted that cowards are more interesting than heroes and I think this story will prove me right. 

Only 6% for now but I’m very excited to see it through. 

  • The Frugal Wizard’s Handbook for Surviving Medieval England by Brandon Sanderson

After the incredible success of Tress and the Emerald Sea, I think everyone was expecting big things from the second kickstarter release. Early reviews didn’t inspire confidence and at 28% my feelings are mixed. On one hand, I’m engaged and want to see this through but it’s not on the same level as most of Sanderson’s work. I don’t find it bad in general, just bad for Sanderson, which is still quite good. 

  • Redshirts by John Scalzi
    • Red cover

I first heard of this book years ago from a podcast and was hooked in by the concept. Essentially, what if the generic crewmen of classic sci-fi ships realized they were expendable? 9% in and I actually think the story is setting up something more complex than that, but I’m still super excited. This is a short book so I should be able to wrap it up pretty quickly. 

Manga Catchup:

  • Dragon Ball

An undeniable classic, though deeply flawed. Toriyama’s original story of Son Goku and his friends laid the foundation of modern shonen manga. 

  • Sakamoto Days

What if John Wick’s retirement wasn’t so aggressively tragic? Sakamoto is still married with a kid and runs a quiet little shop in town. Of course his past keeps trying to come back and he’s forced to show why he was the best assassin. 

  • Fairy Tail

This is one of those series I’ve heard a lot about but never got around to watching. I’ve only read a volume so far but it’s been fun to start. 

  • One Punch Man

Oh man what a fun satire on superheroes. A hero so incredibly strong that one punch is enough to end any fight which leads to boredom? What a setup. 

  • Boruto

I never actually read Naruto, but I watched the show through. When it came to watching Boruto I heard such universal hate that I never bothered. Only later did I learn that most of the show’s hate came from filler and the manga is actually excellent. I’m a few volumes in and I’ve been loving it. 

  • Dragon Ball Z

I don’t think anything can hit the level of nostalgia that this series does. Dragon Ball was fun but the soft reboot is what grabbed American audiences in the 90s and refused to let go. I’ve ripped through the series and reached the cell saga over the last few weeks and I plan to fully catch up an read through Super as soon as I can. 

Ongoing Manga: 

  • My Hero Academia: I’m still loving everything I’m seeing from this series. The final battle is absolutely wild and the last few chapters have been highlighting other characters. 
  • Black Clover: I’m not really sure what to expect right now. It almost feels as if we wrapped up the new setting subplot and jumped headfirst into the final battle with little setup. In all honesty, I expect everything to go horribly and both sides to regroup before a true final conflict. But what do I know? 
  • Kaiju No. 8: Still gold. Absolute mayhem in this extended battle and I’ve loved every bit of it. 
  • One Piece: After well over 100 chapters spent in Wano, Egghead Island has been a fascinating change of pace. Not to mention the most recent chapters following side-conflicts and each one being an absolute banger. The Final Saga of One Piece is in full swing and my body is ready. 
  • Jiangshi X: I think I was halfway through the third chapter when I decided that this series wasn’t for me. It felt familiar to a lot of stories I’d already read without anything better. 
  • Gokurakagai: No matter how objectively amazing it is that the demons of this series are called maga, I don’t have much investment in the characters and the artwork of chapter 3 was unimpressive. I doubt I’ll continue any further. 
  • Kill Blue: it’s silly and campy but has some good potential. Only two chapters are out but we’ll see. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started